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Some U. S. Golf Association Decisions on the Rules of Golf
In tournament play, if the match is all-square at the end of the

eighteen holes and one stroke handicap is given by one of the con-
testants to the other player, is it necessary to play nine holes to decide
the match, or eighteen holes? Does the fact that the stroke falls in
the first nine affect this in any way?

Decision.-It is customary to play the entire eighteen holes over
again when a tie occurs in match-play handicap.

In tournament match play, if a player loses a ball and, after
searching for it for five minutes, abandons the search, then drops a
ball in the usual way, and plays that one, and while walking to the
green finds the original ball that apparently was lost, what rule

. covers?
Decision.-After a player has searched for five minutes, the ball

is considered lost and he must either give up the hole or return and
play another ball as provided under Rule 22. A player may not under
the rules play the original ball under the circumstances mentioned.

A is on the green, B is approaching the green from more than
twenty yards distant. A removes the flag-stick as the ball is played.
B claims the hole, on the ground that A has no right to move the flag-
stick except for his own side. Rule 32 (1) reads as follows: "Either
side is entitled to have the flag-stick removed when approaching the
hole; if a player's ball strike the flag-stick, which has been so removed
by himself, or his partner, or either of their caddies, his side shall
lose the hole."

Decision.-A was entirely within his rights either to remove the
flag-stick himself or have his caddie remove it when B was about to
approach the hole. B's claim to the hole on the ground that A had
no right to remove the flag-stick except for A's own side can not be
sustained. Rule 32 covers this point specifically.

Has there been any change in the rule providing that when a ball
is in a sandpit that the ball must remain exactly as it fell into the
trap without the leveling of the sand surrounding the ball?

Decision.-There is no change in the rules" regarding ball in
hazard. The club may not be soled without being penalized as speci-
fied under the rules. You have probably confused the rule that allows
a player who has played a shot from a hazard, when the ball still lies
in the hazard to smooth over the spot from which the first shot was
played, provided in doing so he does nothing to improve the lie of
the ball for his subsequent shot.

A small creek runs along the left boundary of the fairway of the
third hole of our course. It is played as a water hazard and a penalty
stroke incurred for lifting out of the creek. Please advise as to
whether a ball which has been lifted out of the creek should be dropped
on the fairway or near side (this being the side on which the ball
goes into the creek) or whether the ball must be dropped on the left
or far side of the creek.

Decision.-The ball must be played as provided under Rule 27
unless your local committee rules that the position of the creek is such
as to declare it a "parallel ,vater hazard"; then it is permissible to
drop the ball on the near side "with a stroke penalty. It is usual to
designate the boundary of parallel hazards by a line of white stakes.


